I Should Be Sleeping

I don’t normally write posts on weekends but I’m awake and bored so here goes.

I can’t find anything awesome about being awake at 3:30 a.m. When I was in my twenties, I could shut down a club and go for some late-night pizza before crawling home to bed right around now. But,. in my mid-thirties, I just don’t have that kind of patience or stamina anymore. Plus, I’ve started judging every in clubs. Like i want to tell the girls in 5-inch stilettos to start wearing flats or they will lose their knees prematurely.

I guess the upside to 3:30 a.m. is being able to raid the kitchen with no shame. I’m not admitting anything but someone in my house might have just eaten a spoonful of cream cheese, peanut butter, and sugar-free caramel sauce. If that happened, and I’m pleading the fifth, it was delicious. It’s also a great time to enjoy a wonderful sugar-free Sunday. The downside is that falling asleep on the couch with a bowl of faux sugar treats will lead to two things. Spillage. And  the wily ice cream-lovin’ theracats eating all they want.

If I think about it, and I try not to, it’s frustrating that after all this time, my professionals (a psychiatrist and a neurologist) still can’t figure out how to keep my asleep through the night. I’ve tried all manner of things from good sleep hygiene to supplements to medications to knock-you-socks-off medications and nothing seems to work.

So, I guess for now it’s Sundays and couch snoozes. ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

Leave a Reply

